How to deal with science journalists

Recently I was contacted for the first time by a journalist who wanted to know more about my research. She had seen our latest paper and wanted to ask me a few questions! Flattering, of course! Communicating science to the non-scientist audience is an enshrined duty of all researchers, although not very many do much of it in reality.

So how would I go about it?

Well, I got some advice.

  1. Give the journalist a brief and non-technical summary. Do not assume that she has read the paper – she is calling you because she wants to know what was in it.
  2. Make certain that you phrase yourself in a way that lends itself to quotes. Metaphors, similes and other rhetorical devices are recommended.
  3. Ask to see the article and correct incorrect quotes and other inaccuracies.

And so I did, while a little strained for time.

The result? Slightly hilarious. You can see it here and here.

Obviously, I didn’t expect that the article would appear on sites that so strongly endorse products and services. Beyond that? I’m a little bit clueless. Will anybody read it? If they do, will it have any impact? Should I have given my answers differently? I don’t know.

But to be honest, the sight of my name in print with “Dr” in front of it is still enough to make my day!

Comments are closed.

